WIP–Roses and Doll Quilts

I brought along my third block of the rose window block series — still working on it — but I think a friend of mine wants to try doing this too, as she’s a “Band Mom” and needs something to keep her hands busy while she whiles away those long hours at competitions.  Good luck, Lisa!

Before we left, I was also able to finish a series of doll quilts for my son’s daughters: Emilee, Megan, Brooke and Danielle.  Their mother Kim got them the most adorable doll beds for their dolls for Christmas, and I’d been wanting to make them little quilts ever since I returned home.

Somewhere along the way, I had purchased Moda Candy Bars, which area pack of four stacks of fabric (measuring 2 1/2″ by 5″) and while I liked having the variety of pieces, I had no idea what to do with them.

One little stack makes the perfect-sized doll quilt.  I was thinking I’d do four different quilts, but ended up with three different patterns (the two on the top are the same–a variant of rail fence).

I tied them up with some silky double-faced satin ribbons (hair bows for my granddaughters?) and sent them off before we left to our Spring Break vacation.

I hope these girls like them!

Many thanks to Lee, for hosting us on her website, Freshly Pieced, every Wednesday.  Return there to see what others are working on.

5 thoughts on “WIP–Roses and Doll Quilts

  1. I love your block and the doll quilts are darling! The best part was the picture of your beautiful granddaughters! They are lucky to have such a nice grandma! I have one granddaughter and one grandson and another one due any day now!!! Being a grandma is the BEST!!!! :)

  2. These are so cute. I still have a little doll quilt my grandma made for me almost 50 years ago. I hope your granddaughters treasure these quilts as much as I have treasured mine!

Your turn to have a say:

