Early Summer WIP Check-in

Many thanks to Lee for hosting us on WIP Wednesday.  Click here to return to her blog and see other projects begun this early summer day (even though Summer Solstice hasn’t arrive officially).

Summer’s starting and the air is hot, the birds chirp-chirping early in the morning, the days longer.  I just need my energy to last longer because I’m working on the Lollypop Trees again.  My goal is to get all the fabrics cut out and pinned down, as I hope to sew on them all Fall and have the quilt blocks finished by early next year.  This is a long-term quilt, not quick.  Duh. I’ve traced off the patterns onto freezer paper and cut them all out and am now starting in on Block Five.

Working also on Bee blocks–two a month throughout summer.  I just sent off my first two!

Binding for the Gingham Quilt, to be revealed on July 4th, along with a few others.  Check the tab above, Project Gingham, for whose block or four or mini-quilt or quilt we’ll see that day.

Took a class from Becky Goldsmith yesterday, and now I have the class sample from her class to finish up.  I had a great time with the ladies of the Orange Grove Quilters Guild.  Add one more WIP to the list.

Rolls?  Yes, one of my BIG Works in Progress is a luncheon for 70 on the last Monday in June.  I made up a batch of these Buttermilk rolls to try them out for the sandwiches in the box lunch: delicious.  Now to make four more batches.  A sandwich on a homemade roll instead of a croissant–I think that’s a fair trade.  It’s for the first day of  camp for the young women in our area, so they asked me to put together the box lunches and get them ready to go by 7:00 a.m. to go up the mountain to camp.

But all forward progress will probably stop on most sewing when my daughter Barbara and her children arrive for a couple of weeks.  It will be fun to see them!

6 thoughts on “Early Summer WIP Check-in

  1. those lollipops look delicious. gotta love long-term, take-your-time projects! mmm, rolls! my domestic goddess skills are starting to make an appearance, too :D

    That family shot is lovely, hope you all have a wonderful couple of weeks together.

  2. I like your wip. Beautiful Lollypop blocks. I bet you are so excited to see those grandchildren. I’m leaving tomorrow, a 4 hour drive now that I’ve moved to the mountains, to see two, taking one of my other grandaughters with me. I miss those kids so much. I know how you feel. Great Post.

  3. Love the lollypop trees! I have always loved that pattern but never trusted myself to see it through to the end. Maybe I will make a lollypop pillow some day. ;)

    My oldest is leaving for her first year at girls camp next week too. It is the first time she will be gone without a parent so long. I didn’t think that I was a clingy parent, but it is starting to make me nervous, esp as I am a bit concerned about how the camp is run. I’m just crossing my fingers that everything is good this year.

    70 lunches! You are a trooper!

Your turn to have a say:

