Quilting Resource–Judy Martin

With all the modern quilts flooding the blogosphere, it’s good to remember some of the more traditional quilters that have been around for a long time.  Judy Martin is one of those.  I’ve frequented her site over the years, because she always has a free block of the month, or quilt of the month for us to download.

So while I may say “traditional” I think this one–Posts and Rails, the block and quilt that are up there now–read very modern.  She also has a list of her patterns that takes up 28 pages, and has one of my current favorites: Cloak and Dagger, which I saw in a Roberta Horton book.  From Judy’s list, I found out which book it was in, hopped on Amazon (it’s way out of print) and was able to pick it up so I can have the pattern.

I have several of Judy Martin’s books (she has a publishing company) and they always have great designs, which are drawn in full color.  She also has many quilts for sale for very reasonable prices, if you are interested in that.

Here’s one called Big Sky Log Cabin, and she made it by leaving off the last two logs of a Log Cabin block.  Click *here* for more information.  I think this also fits into the modern quilt sensibility, if that’s your bend.  I also think of her as a master of stars and star combinations, which I love.  Even though I have not ever made a completely “Judy Martin” quilt, I have used her block ideas in swaps and in sampler quilts.  She’s another one of those masters in the quilt world who I have learned from.

3 thoughts on “Quilting Resource–Judy Martin

  1. She made the best ruler EVER. When she decided that it wasn’t financially feasible to have another batch of rulers made, I begged her until she sold me two of her used ones. They finally are unusable. And my friend,Dotty, seeing my anguish, gave me back the Judy Martin ruler I had given her as a gift. Really, The Best.Ruler.Ever. She is a math genius. Which I am not. I can’t tell you how that ruler has come in handy when making the Farmer’s Wife Blocks because on two sides she added a solid line that is basically an extra 1/16 of an inch, which comes in handy sometimes. Also, her philosophy that so many “shortcuts” are not really shortcuts. I totally subscribe to her philosophy in that regard. Okay. Done rhapsodizing about Judy Martin….

  2. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the
    pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  3. For self-employed applicants, profit is the benchmark that determines loan value.
    Another great free i – Phone app for personal finance is Argosity, once you enter your financial information it allows you
    to see how you can come up with a budget and then helps you to stick to it.

    Examine your checkbook register and petty cash receipts for
    any business related expenditures.

Your turn to have a say:

