Project Gingham!!

A long time ago, in a galaxy garage sale faraway, Elizabeth found a whole lotta’ gingham.  She shared with Krista, who really likes vintage fabrics.  Then we hatched the idea to share with a few others. And today’s the day everyone is sharing with us, but first–my reveal!

I’ve titled this quilt: Gingham Quilt.  Really original, but certainly it has to get points for being descriptive, doesn’t it?  I auditioned a lot of different block ideas, and then decided that just about anything would work with these prints, especially a lot of white.  I know some of the checks get in the way of the bow-tie, but I wanted this to be a fun, summery quilt, without freaking out about anything.  So there you go—some things you just live with and love.

I had seen in a Roberta Horton book that she had used a different fabric for the outside blocks in order to create a border, and I wanted to try that too.  I picked up the cool lavender almost randomly, wanting it so it wouldn’t intrude on the crisp white in the middle of the quilt.  A slight shift, only, in that border, and I tried to use many of the darker ginghams to highlight that shift.

Detail of the quilting, which is a spool of thread and a needle.  My quilter Cathy always has a great design for me.

Two glamour shots of the quilt.  I wanted to show one of my favorite ginghams–one not likely ever seen again in today’s mass market.  It’s that true lavender in the middle of the quilt.

I left this picture bigger so you could click on it for detail.  This is made with (deep memory, here, from my CloTex degree) a dobby loom.  The word comes from the early days of fabric manufacture, when a little boy would sit on top of the loom and pull up individual warp (or lengthwise) yarns so the weft (crosswise or selvage-to-selvage) shuttle could glide across and make a design.  Dobby is short for “draw boy,” or so the rumor goes.

If you look closely on the back, you can see white yarns (threads) that are carried across the back, and create the design on the front.  The floating yarns are the tip-off to which side you are looking at. A lappet is another type of machine but it’s my understanding that the lappet can only do one direction of thread, whereas in this design both the warp and the weft are involved.  Like I said, we aren’t likely to see this fabric ever again.

Label.

I chose a Jane Sassaman print for the back, and not only because I got a bunch of it for a deal when I went up to Michael Levine’s in Los Angeles, in the garment district, but more because it seemed to be in the mood of the front.

I think of this as the quilt for a picnic, for throwing down on a meadow somewhere and pulling out a wicker basket, kitted out perfectly with gourmet feastiness.  Right.  Not my life.  In reality, I think of the time I went up and took my then 4th-grade daughter out to lunch. . . on the front lawn of the school.  We got a lot of crazy looks from the gardeners and the kindergarteners as we enjoyed our sauteed pepper-and-onion sandwiches, just the two of us, with moms picking up kids in the school’s driveway just three feet away.  It’s a great memory; it’s that kind of a picnic quilt.

Now hop on over to the other blogs and see their Project Gingham reveals!

Krista, of KristaStitched

Cindy, of Live A Colorful Life

Rachel of The Life of Riley

Suz, of PatchworknPlay

Kris, of Duke Says Sew What

Becky, the Sarcastic Quilter

14 thoughts on “Project Gingham!!

  1. What fun to see everybody’s version of gingham! I made a gingham quilt for my first born son, alternating blocks of pink and blue gingham. Back in those days (75) you did not know if it was a boy or girl, thus the pink AND blue. I had some leftover fabric from the quilt and I made myself a patchwork skirt trimmed with matching blue grosgrain ribbon. Thanks for stirring up the memories. Elizabeth’s sister, Susan.

  2. It’s an absolutely beautiful quilt…I just love it! I might have to raid my Mom’s stash of old gingham one of these days and make one too!

  3. I love it! It’s a bow tie pattern. I have always wanted to do that pattern and with gingham it is wonderful. The gingham is better than all the 50′s reproduction fabrics. Congratulations on this stunning quilt!

  4. It’s beautiful! The color play and the quilting, I love it. I’ve had such a love/hate with ginghams since I started quilting, I’m very happy to have stumbled along the Project Gingham. It’s removed any “hate” I had left. I’ll be explaining all that on my own post later today. Had a little delay with power outage and work. :)

    Love your quilt… really do!

  5. Love the bow tie pattern you have used with the gingham! The border is particularly effective! That sweet mauve fabric had me puzzled- I couldn’t work out which side was up!? Now what to do with the leftovers!! LOL!

  6. Elizabeth, I love how the white really shows off the gingham. This quilt just looks like summertime to me. The fabric for the back is perfect….just a beautiful quilt!!!
    Hugs,
    Celia

  7. nice! i love how the darker ones out on the edges make some kind of border illusion, that’s cool! Thanks for starting up all this gingham fun, i had a blast :D

  8. Love the finished quilt. The quilting is so fun. I can’t wait to get home and have the time and internet connection to see all the finishes.

  9. Oh my word, I’m so excited to see this all finished after hearing about it so much on your blog and IG! And I actually really love the subtle border – just by changing the hue of the white, and picking darker ginghams for the outside. It’s genius!

  10. Pingback: Milestone–100 Completed Quilts | OccasionalPiece–Quilt!

  11. Pingback: Summer’s Fading Fast | OccasionalPiece–Quilt!

  12. Pingback: Oh, The Places I’ve Been! | OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

Your turn to have a say:

