Spring Quilt

After working on the bold colors and patterns of Come A-Round, I have to say that this was a big change, fabric-wise.  As I mentioned, I’m using the line Sunkissed, and it is predominantly soft soft soft in both coloration and value.  What pulled me in was all the text that revolves around gardens and planting and Spring Life.  (Ooh!  Is that a title edging its way into existence?  We’ll see.)  A bit of the green fabric, above.

Here’s the stack of blocks, ready to sew. This quilt goes together very quickly.  The center block is cut 4 1/2″ square to yield a 4″-center when sewn.  The first strip is cut 2″ by 4 1/2″ that sews down to 1 1/2″ finished width, and the second and third “logs” are the same size: cut 2″ by 6″.  The block finishes up at 7 1/2″ tall by 5 1/2″ wide, and when sewn into the quilt–7 by 5.  I used a 10 by 10 grid because I like my lap quilts a little on the long side so I can tuck them under my feet when I’m watching something like Downtown Abbey or Doc Martin (BBC-TV).

I threw them up on the pin wall, then fussed at them for a couple of days, moving a few here and a few there.  The centers of my blocks look the same, but in one fabric the writing is grey and in the other fabric, the writing is green–a little variation that I tried to spread throughout the quilt.

I still have my featherweight machine out.  I think it looks like a little toy.  I love it.

While I pieced the blocks together while listening to our church’s conference, I sewed the quilt together while listening to The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obreht. I’m glad I have more sewing today, because this is one intriguing novel–can hardly wait to see how it all comes out.  My mother’s listening to it as well (although she’s ahead of me and almost done), and then we compare notes and talk about the novel.  This is our fifth novel to do this way.  Others we’ve listening to and enjoyed are What About The Daughter, The Help, All Things Fall Apart, and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand.

It’s up on the pinwall–all done.  I like to drape my quilts over the stairwell and look at them there, as well:

And a close-up, for their starlet portfolio:

One thought on “Spring Quilt

Your turn to have a say:

