EPP · Shine: The Circles Quilt

Circles Block #6–another view, EPP Sew-A-Long

Circles EPP Button

I told you in the last post that I’d made up another version of Circles #6, and today I’ll show you what I came up with.

Circles Block #6 duo

When I was sewing this up, I kept thinking what a great Christmas pillow it would make.

Christmas Star Pillow_front

So I made one!

EPP #6_auditioning fabrics

As usual, I audition fabrics to see what I like.  You can see which won.

EPP #6_1sewing together arcs

I lined up the Star Point with the lower inner arc and put a pin through the centers.

EPP #6_2sewing together arcs

It’s easier to stitch when you do it three-dimensionally.

EPP #6_3sewing together arcs

Cute little thing, isn’t it?

EPP #6_4sewing together arcs

EPP #6_ring to center

I made this  circle differently.  I think the method I showed you on the first post is much better, but here’s this one:  Stitch the inner ring pieces together, then stitch to the center circle.  There’s no need to ease; it should fit together neatly by taking a stitch or two at a time, then moving along.  Sew the final inner ring seam together.

EPP #6_stitching center to outer ring

Now stitch together the inner arc (red) and the small star point (blue) and add the left star points (more red, on either side of the blue).  After you’ve made six of those little units, start making the larger outer ring by attaching the large star points (white).  Like the first ring onto the center circle, it should “match” easily onto the sign.  You can see how I began here, by dropping the ring down and starting the stitching.  I did take time to figure out how I wanted the white star points to be aligned on the final block.

Circles Block #6 duo

See the two circles side-by-side, above, to see the different alignments.  The Christmas Star has a star point centered, pointing North, but the other circle has it differently.

Like I said, I think the other method is much easier.

EPP #6_center circle

Done!

EPP #6_back with papers

Ah, you know I love this view!

Circles Block Christmas Backgrounds

I had several backgrounds to choose from, but my granddaughter Emilee helped me choose the white one with the stars.

Christmas Star Pillow_front1

Papers out, and here we go a-quilting!

Christmas Star Pillow Back_quilting

One thing I learned from Sandra Eichner’s blog is how to let the batting poof up under a design element by stitching towards it.  First I did the red pieces in between the star points in a meander, trying to quilt toward the star points large and small.  Then I went for the outer margins, having fun and letting the machine roll.  Black thread and a tiny stipple for the inner ring, dodging the berries, and then outline the angel in the center in order to control the fullness of the batting.  Lastly, I outlined everything, using my even-feed straight-stitch foot.

Christmas Star Pillow_detail front

Christmas Star Pillow_front

Yay!  A new piece of Christmas fun.  Hope you’ve enjoyed seeing both of these Circle Blocks.  I’m taking a break during December and will be back in January for the last six circles in this project.  Yes, I’ve decided I’m stopping after twelve EPP circles.  That ought to give you enough to play with!  If you are making these blocks, please shoot me a photo, and I’ll post it up on the blog.

8 thoughts on “Circles Block #6–another view, EPP Sew-A-Long

  1. Well, I love this one, too and especially that your granddaughter was involved (at least in fabric selection)! Another great finish!

  2. Wow….it looks so different and is just as beautiful. I really love the completed pillow. Are you appliquing it to the outer border or is that paper pieced into the circle as well? LOVELY!

  3. Wow. This is so incredible Elizabeth. You make it sound so easy : )
    Some day I will try your circles. They are just stunning.
    Are you with Cindy? Say hello from me

  4. Amazing how “small” changes can have such a large impact! Really like this variation and appreciate the quilting advice as well. Glad you are taking December off. You are so productive you probably need a big break from this to be able to work Christmas into your schedule!

  5. I think this is the perfect Christmas pillow, from the fabrics (love that center angel) to the design. It’s gorgeous.

  6. That blue really adds a “jewel” tone to the finish!!! So fascinating how moving the star points gives a different ‘feel’. Love that pillow!!!!! And, love the quilting (the hints on creating “poofiness” are great and work in reverse to rid a troublesome area of ‘poof’!). Hugs……………..

  7. It’s always interesting to see how one block can look so different made in different colourways. (I am intending to make my magazine block with a black background instead of a neutral linen) The starry background is the perfect complement to the angel.

Your turn to have a say: