Quilt Shows · Quilts

Quilts from Quilt Market 2016 • part 2

The following quilts were exhibited in the center of Quilt Market this year, in a special exhibit.  They are the prize winners from Houston, and the area around them was always calm and quiet, so it was a nice place to visit.  Here are the rest of the pictures I took.

QMBrown_WhyKnot

Why Knot? is by Tanya Brown, who writes: “This quilt was inspired by watching my Cub Scout son practice knot tying, an exercise designed to torment the uninitiated.  In this piece, the metaphorical nightmare of becoming hopelessly engulfed in one’s own knots is made real.”  Follow the link on her name to read her (hilarious) description of how this piece came to light, as well as interesting reading on her process.
QMFleschner_RavendaleStar1

Ravendale Star, by Linda Fleschner, is a quilt where she did not design the entire thing before she started but knew that she would “use the Ravendale paisley print in a Radiant Star.”  She goes on to say, “When that was finished, I designed the border feather, staying with a black and white palette–a big departure from the bright colors I normally use.”QMFleschner_RavendaleStar2 QMFleschner_RavendaleStar3

(Okay, I took this one because it bulges slightly in the middle, just like mine do.  However, mine aren’t as intricate or beautiful or amazing as hers.  This is my make-me-feel-better-about-my-creations shot.)
QMFogg_VisionsApplePie1

Laura Fogg‘s Visions of Apple Pie.  Her artist’s notes say: “Looking up into a loaded apple tree on a hot summer day, I imagined all of the things I could make with the glorious fruit.”

QMFogg_VisionsApplePie2 QMGorder_AnniversaryRoses

Anniversary Roses, by Susan Gorder.  She writes: “The appliqué rose blocks and borders were my take-along project on many trips over several years.  Once the top was finished, it took me another six months to hand quilt.  Instead of traditional grid quilting behind the appliqué, I decided to quilt feathers and to repeat elements of the border design around the center blocks.”QMHayward_WhiteHoles

White Holes by Peter Hayward.  His notes state that “I wanted to take the basic concept behind op art quilts to a new level by adding color gradation and concentric lines as a way of enhancing the 3-D effect.”QMIke_magicalZone1

Magical Zone, by Keiko Ike.  She writes: “I wanted to create a mysterious quilt with design and color.  I perfectly pieced the extremely sharp points in the Mariner’s Compass, which is normally difficult to finish flat.”QMIke_magicalZone2 QMIke_magicalZone3 QMKotani_CoastalTown1

A Coastal Town is made by Nobuko Kotani and quilted by “14 friends from Kanagawa.”QMKotani_CoastalTown2

She writes: “This started from a fabric I found while I was on a trip.  The pattern on it was interesting, so Katy designed a town with many unique houses along a coast.”QMKotani_CoastalTown3 QMKotani_CoastalTown4 QMKotani_CoastalTown5

Can you tell I loved all the details?QMMarquez_Dance1

Dance, by Marisa Marquez (of Madrid, Spain): “Every little girl’s dream is to become a dancer–elegant and graceful.  As we grow up, we continue dreaming.”QMMarquez_Dance2 QMMulheren_AudreyII

Audrey II Plus 3, by Marianne Mulheron.  Her notes say that “In response to a Spring Into It quilt challenge, I used real springs to attach three dimensional baby plants to their carnivorous mother, Audrey II, from the movie Little Shop of Horrors.”QMNozawa1_mysteriousletter

Mysterious Letter, by Noriko Nozawa.  Her notes say: “The Kana letter, which is a Japanese inherent letter, is the main theme of this work.  Although I used the Japanese traditional letter, I added a sense of fun by changing the color, placing the letter randomly, and repeating it.”QMNozawa2_mysteriousletter

I love all the different textures in her quilt.QMPerejda_ArroyoGrandeAlbum1

Arroyo Grande Album is by Andrea Perejda.  She writes: “Folk-art appliqué has been an interest of mine for many years.  I started with Threadbear’s pattern for their Civil War Bride quilt top.  I altered it considerably, adding personally meaningful motifs and appliqué sashings.”QMPerejda_ArroyoGrandeAlbum2 QMWasilowski1_birdonbranch

Laura Wasilowski‘s Bird on a Branch #6.  “This quilt,” she writes, “depicts a view of my front garden.”QMWasilowski2_birdonbranch QMWeichselbaum_Exuberance

Exuberance, by Enid Gjelten Weichselbaum, was “[i]spired by the layering of colors created in watercolor paintings.”  She “used layers of bright organzas to ‘grow’ a joyful bouquet of flowers and a transparent vase.QMWeichselbaum_Exuberance2

That’s it for my quilt show today.

Shine Circle quilted

I’ve been working on my own quilts, finally tackling the hard job of quilting through two layers of batting (some make this look easy, but really, they are lying. . . unless they are on a big machine).

OCT Working on borders

I’m also working out the thorny problem of those pesky border instructions for our Oh Christmas Tree border post, which is coming up quickly.  Don’t worry.  I’m on it.

ChristmasTreeLogoSM

It’s all coming July 2nd–just in time to stay home that weekend and sew!  We’re almost finished with that quilt. Just keep on  quilting; we want to see YOUR quilts next year in Houston, and then Quilt Market!

10 thoughts on “Quilts from Quilt Market 2016 • part 2

  1. Those quilts are fascinating–the variety and range amaze me. I really like the humor in the Why Knot quilt–it’s refreshing! And I like seeing that people are still hand quilting!

  2. I so appreciate that you share photos like this with us! Different works and styles make it into different shows and most of us will never get into Market, so……
    These are all wonderful and gave me a few ideas! My favs are Coastal Town and Exuberance and I’m anxious to go back and read the back stories! Many thanks for your continued work and support on Oh Christmas Tree!!!

  3. I’m at a loss for words! Those quilts take the art ‘bar’ to a whole new level of expertise!! I can’t pick just one fave……they are all so wonderful!

  4. Those quilts are jaw dropping! Wow! I loved seeing the various techniques they used to achieve their finishes. The sheer layers that created the watercolor look is brilliant.

    I can’t wait to see the quilting you are doing on your quilt. I think it is a good weekend to stay inside and quilt.

  5. Wow, thanks for sharing your photos and the link to Tanya Brown’s blog was very informative. I often wonder how art quilts are constructed and it was satisfying to find out this time!

  6. I love seeing these fantastic quilts, thanks for sharing!
    I’m so glad you’re working on those borders for the Oh Christmas Tree QAL. I’ll have to do some tweeking, since my quilt height is shorter than the pattern. I hope your processes will give me some insight!

  7. Thanks for all the quilts. I am in love with the Ravendale Star, and I’m glad to know you’re working on instructions for our Oh Christmas Tree border. I thought I’d start on the triangles while I wade through birds and flowers, but then I thought, No, I’ll just wait for Elizabeth to figure out the best way to do this. 🙂 Thanks for all your help.

  8. Great tour, as usual. I really like the fact that you give us the story behind each quilt, or at least a taste of the story. So many folks just post pictures, often not even identifying the maker. I love those little details. About the Oh Christmas Tree border. My plan (still a ways in the future) was to do the triangle border first, and make the center applique field the size needed to fit the border instead of the other way around! You do such a great job with your sew alongs and tutorials. Always clear, and with just a touch of humor (or more, as needed).

  9. I so look forward to occasional piece.
    When I open my mail and you are there it brings a smile.
    Always something new to learn or inspire me. great tips, techniques, pictures of places I will never go.
    Thank you, Elizabeth, for taking your time to give back to others. We are so lucky to have you.
    Do you have classes on Craftsy? Would you say your work is more hand than machine?
    Carol, CT

Your turn to have a say: