Free Quilt Pattern · Tutorial

Christmas Tree Block Swap

xmastreeswap
xmastreeswap_1

My friend Leisa saw a Christmas Tree Block Swap that was going on online, and said “Why don’t we do one like this with our group?” Sure, why not?  We don’t have anything else going on, do we? (right)

I drafted a pattern, just drawing this way and that, then made up a test block.  My graphic design guru Simone approved it, and we were off.  I transferred my dimensions to Quilt Pro, my quilt software program and here it is for you to download:

 christmas-tree-gdhrtqltrs-swap_pattern 

That’s FREE, no charge, but as usual please don’t print off one for your mother or your sister, but instead, send them here to get theirs.  Many thanks.

printer-settings

AND…as a reminder.  Please be sure to set your scale to 100%, as shown above in the red oval.

Now, the tutorial.  I apologize in advance for the pitiful lighting.  Chalk it up to working on a deadline, because our swap is in a a week and a half, and I need to get this to my quilt group for our Flash Mob Quilt Night.  (I hope they bring Christmas cookies to share…just saying…)

xmastreeswap_2

I also apologize for filling up your mailboxes with two posts so close together.  But then again, you might need this too, to spread a little holiday cheer around your sewing room.

xmastreeswap_3

This tutorial is for one block.  It took me a grand total of about one minute to make one block.  Choosing and cutting the fabrics took a little longer.  For our trees we are using clear bright tones/prints, such as green, yellow, pink, aqua, purple/lavender, orange, red.  For the backgrounds, we are using black or white prints.  For the tree trunk: something trunkish, please.  Here are all the pieces laid out. (Thank you Mary, for my cool board.)

Sew the Upper Background piece onto the tree.  Leave that tiny wedge of 1/4″ goodness at the bottom right corner (shown in the red circle), and let the top of the upper background just hang off the tree.  Stitch 1/4″ seam.

xmastreeswap_4
xmastreeswap_5
xmastreeswap_6

Backside of that piece.  Now the 1/4″ wedge of goodness is at the lower left, and the extra background is at the top.  Press seam towards the tree.

xmastreeswap_7

Repeat with other side.  

xmastreeswap_8
xmastreeswap_9

Trim off the extra point.  Press towards tree (see below).

xmastreeswap_10
xmastreeswap_11

Seam the Lower Background pieces on either side of the tree trunk.  Press towards the trunk.

xmastreeswap_12

Line up the tree trunk with the tip of the tree, to get it on straight.  I’ve left a bit extra on either side, so if you want it wonky, feel free.

xmastreeswap_13

Press all seams toward tree.  You can see here the extra I’ve left you so you can adjust the trunk as needed.

xmastreeswap_14

Trim the block to 6 1/2″ by 7 1/2″ like this: Leave space above the tree tip, roughly 3/4″.

xmastreeswap_15

Then whack off the bottom, so the total height is 7 1/2″.  This tree will finish at 6 by 7″.

xmastreeswap_16

Fussy cutting is always encouraged.

Now if you want to cut out a lot of Upper Backgrounds at once, do this:

1-Layer two pieces of fabric with wrong sides together (like it comes off the bolt).

2- Cut a square 5 1/4″ by 6 1/8″.

3- Measure up 1 1/8″ on opposite sides, and draw or cut a diagonal line.  It should be the same size as your piece B or D.

Remember that these pieces are opposite of each other, so don’t layer up your fabrics with all right sides up, or this won’t work.

xmastreeswap_final1

Here’s my first batch.  Now I’ll go do this some more.

Have fun making a forest!

tiny nine patches

15 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Block Swap

  1. Very sweet trees, thanks for sharing…..but isn’t it still September? It certainly can’t be very close to Christmas, or I would be so much more ready….sigh…maybe one year….

  2. What a nice tutorial, Elizabeth! I’m sure lots of quilters will find it helpful. Since we haven’t decorated for Christmas for eight years now, I don’t think I’ll be making this. But it’s sure cute!

  3. Hi Elizabeth – Thank you so much for the block and tutorial. I have been thinking about you and hope that you have a wonderful holiday season and that 2017 will be one of your best. Your Christmas tree quilt certainly turned out beautiful and I can see that you are certainly becoming a pro on your new quilting machine. Have you named it yet? Glad I got a chance to wish you the best and hope we can continue our online friendship through 2017. Diana

Your turn to have a say: